The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water

EnglishPaperback / softback
Harris Nathan
Headline Publishing Group
EAN: 9781472274380
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€17.91
Common price €19.90
Discount 10%
pc
Do you want this product today?
Oxford Bookshop Banská Bystrica
not available
Oxford Bookshop Bratislava
not available
Oxford Bookshop Košice
not available

Detailed information

'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer
An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END.

In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war.

When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . .

EAN 9781472274380
ISBN 1472274385
Binding Paperback / softback
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Publication date June 15, 2021
Pages 368
Language English
Dimensions 232 x 152 x 30
Country United Kingdom
Readership General
Authors Harris Nathan

Similar titles

Great Circle

Great Circle

Shipstead Maggie
EnglishPaperback / softback
Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780857526816
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€8.32
Common price: €9.24
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€9.24 -10%
Klara and the Sun

Klara and the Sun

Ishiguro, Kazuo
EnglishPaperback / softback
Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571364886
Available at distributor
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€14.33
Common price: €15.92
Discount 10%
(-10%)
Available at distributor
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€15.92 -10%
An Island

An Island

Jennings Karen
EnglishPaperback / softback
Holland House Books
ISBN: 9781910688922
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€11.13
Common price: €12.37
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€12.37 -10%
A Passage North

A Passage North

Arudpragasam Anuk
EnglishHardback
Granta Books
ISBN: 9781783786947
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€19.84
Common price: €22.04
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€22.04 -10%
Town Called Solace

Town Called Solace

Lawson Mary
EnglishPaperback / softback
Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781784743932
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€13.37
Common price: €14.86
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€14.86 -10%