Great Circle

Great Circle

EnglishPaperback / softback
Shipstead Maggie
Transworld Publishers Ltd
EAN: 9780857526816
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€8.32
Common price €9.24
Discount 10%
pc
Do you want this product today?
Oxford Bookshop Banská Bystrica
not available
Oxford Bookshop Bratislava
not available
Oxford Bookshop Košice
not available

Detailed information

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2022
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2021
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
TIME BOOK OF THE YEAR

A Book of the Year for The Times, Telegraph, Daily Express, New Statesman, Good Housekeeping, Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, Time, Esquire, The Economist, Oprah Daily and Woman and Home

'A gripping historical adventure that feels sharp, fresh and modern'
STYLIST

'So beautiful, so daring, so complete'
TAYLOR JENKINS REID

'A masterpiece'
NIGELLA LAWSON

A soaring, breathtakingly ambitious novel that weaves together the astonishing lives of a 1950s vanished female aviator and the modern-day Hollywood actress who plays her on screen. For fans of TAYLOR JENKINS REID, WILLIAM BOYD and ANN PATCHETT
_______________________
From her days as a wild child in prohibition America to the blitz and glitz of wartime London, from the rugged shores of New Zealand to a lonely iceshelf in Antarctica, Marian Graves is driven by a need for freedom and danger.

Determined to live an independent life, she resists the pull of her childhood sweetheart, and burns her way through a suite of glamorous lovers. But it is an obsession with flight that consumes her most.

Now, as she is about to fulfil her greatest ambition, to circumnavigate the globe from pole to pole, Marian crash lands in a perilous wilderness of ice.

Over half a century later, troubled film star Hadley Baxter is drawn inexorably to play the enigmatic pilot on screen. It is a role that will lead her to an unexpected discovery, throwing fresh and spellbinding light on the story of the unknowable Marian Graves.
_________________________________________
'Extraordinary' NEW YORK TIMES

'Full of adventure, passion and tragedy' THE TIMES

'Soars from the very first page' SUNDAY EXPRESS

'Luminous, masterful. Glides seamlessly through 20th century history' DAILY TELEGRAPH

'Breathtaking' OBSERVER

'Impressive and gripping' SUNDAY TIMES

'Surprising and moving at every turn' GUARDIAN

'Audacious and
Immersive' DAILY MAIL

'Accomplished and ambitious' FINANCIAL TIMES

Readers love GREAT CIRCLE:
*****
What a read! Immense story with beautifully created characters
***** A 600 page turner that you are sad to finish
***** The story is so well researched and planned; historical fiction standing side by side with history itself
***** This is a stunning achievement, my perspective feels fundamentally transformed through reading it
***** A wonderful saga, covering a large chunk of the twentieth century

EAN 9780857526816
ISBN 0857526812
Binding Paperback / softback
Publisher Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publication date May 4, 2021
Pages 608
Language English
Dimensions 234 x 153 x 33
Country United Kingdom
Authors Shipstead Maggie

Similar titles

Town Called Solace

Town Called Solace

Lawson Mary
EnglishPaperback / softback
Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781784743932
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€13.37
Common price: €14.86
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€14.86 -10%
Klara and the Sun

Klara and the Sun

Ishiguro, Kazuo
EnglishPaperback / softback
Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571364886
Available at distributor
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€14.33
Common price: €15.92
Discount 10%
(-10%)
Available at distributor
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€15.92 -10%
A Passage North

A Passage North

Arudpragasam Anuk
EnglishHardback
Granta Books
ISBN: 9781783786947
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€19.84
Common price: €22.04
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€22.04 -10%
An Island

An Island

Jennings Karen
EnglishPaperback / softback
Holland House Books
ISBN: 9781910688922
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€11.13
Common price: €12.37
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Friday, 21. of June 2024
€12.37 -10%
The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water

Harris Nathan
EnglishPaperback / softback
Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472274380
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€17.91
Common price: €19.90
Discount 10%
(-10%)
On order
Delivery on Wednesday, 26. of June 2024
€19.90 -10%