Unorthodox

Unorthodox

AngličtinaMäkká väzba
Feldman, Deborah
SIMON & SCHUSTER
EAN: 9781982148201
Na objednávku
Predpokladané dodanie v piatok, 14. októbra 2022
11,61 €
Bežná cena: 12,90 €
Zľava 10 %
ks
Chcete tento titul ešte dnes?
Oxford Bookshop Banská Bystrica
nie je dostupné
Oxford Bookshop Bratislava
1 ks · 12,90 €
Oxford Bookshop Košice
nie je dostupné

Podrobné informácie

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this “sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won’t be able to put down.

EAN 9781982148201
ISBN 1982148209
Typ produktu Mäkká väzba
Vydavateľ SIMON & SCHUSTER
Dátum vydania 19. marca 2020
Stránky 272
Jazyk English
Rozmery 198 x 213 x 20
Krajina United States
Čitatelia General
Autori Feldman, Deborah
Ilustrácie b&w photos throughout; b&w photos throughout
Edícia Media Tie-In